…to the mother of my soul

We need joy as we need air

“We need JOY as we need air.
We Love as we need water.
We need each other as we need the earth we share.” (Maya Angelou)

Dear Mother Maya,
On the day that you passed onward my insides welled-up,
and fountained out from the top of my head.
A sorrow mingled with joy. They ran soft wet ribbons to my toes,
a pond of absinthe-colored peace.
Out, out went the waters — pond, then lake, then a limbic ocean —
my world inundated.
The Happy Planet sprouted wings. We flew away.
I heard you whisper a duet with the cosmic wind,
a buttery vocalese mussed my hair.
Humming along, I reached for a palette of pixels
and painted love for you.
Thank you for sharing your heart with me, Mother.
Thank you for being.

I love you,
Cate ❤️

Part one in a four-part series dedicated to the poet mother of my heart and soul, Maya Angelou
(All images created in the virtual world, Second Life, unless otherwise stated

7 thoughts on “…to the mother of my soul

  1. Cate…I don’t know where I have been but this woman was a stranger until I read this, thank you. I have taken a bit of time to do a cursory view of her bio and some quotes. I do understand totally where it is you are when composing the above letter.

    Thank you for the introduction to Ms Maya♥

    I can’t post until I include this quote;
    “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”
    ― Maya Angelou

    xox Cate

    • Well then… I see the Uni-Verse had this blog post in mind when I was trying for three days to do the ‘other’ one. This give me such a giggle. Dee… I’m so pleased you came to visit. I read Maya for the first time in about 1970, her autobiographical, “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings”. I was 18-years old, and she had given things names and voices that were so important for me to know and and hear. I’ve managed to do four images with Maya’s words as inspiration. Perhaps after I get them all here on the blog, I’ll shoot more.

      Thank you, Sweetie! ♡

  2. Pingback: Lastest Wordpress Plugin News

Comments welcome!

